Shift Local Wedding Edition: Dealing with Stress

Wedding planning is a lot of work for obvious reasons.  I normally deal with stress by practicing yoga or going for a run or hike.  Unfortunately, I’ve been dealing with plantar fasciitis over the last year and no longer can go on regular long runs so I looked for alternative ways to work out and also strengthen my calves, ankles and feet.
"Bride-ready shoulders"

“Bride-ready shoulders”

Last October, I started taking pilates classes with Jenise. I used to hate pilates because I’ve always had a weak core and could never keep up with the class.  Jenise completely changed my mind about pilates.  Jenise is funny and engaging (in other words, she distracts me when we’re holding a pose for a little bit longer than I think I could). Her sessions at the Body Gallery (which is in my work building) is limited to 6 people so you get lots of attention.  She  takes the time to get to know you and remembers what’s going on with your life.  She knows that I am planning a wedding so she makes sure to give me tips on how to deal with stress.  For example, she warned me that there will be a point when I will need to release some frustration so she suggested that I do burpees or pushups as a stress reliever.  It was funny when she mentioned this to me but man did it help when I had a mini-freak out last week over vendor issues.

Overall, Pilates has done wonders for my posture (which is very important for wedding pictures as Jenise likes to remind me during sessions) and even with my feet issues.  Pilates also enhanced my yoga and spin practice because I became more conscious of proper alignment and my posture.
Get to know Jenise a little more in our Q & A session below:

How did you get started?

I worked in an office. Sitting in a chair, wearing heels and carrying a bag was physically exhausting. My only pain relief came when I got out of my office and into a pilates class. I loved doing pilates so much that I knew teaching  pilates had to be my life path.

What does “local” mean to you?

Local means the community you are in.

Why San Francisco?

I was born and raised in San Francisco. Although I have lived in both Thailand (2 years) and Miami (5 years), no place I explored offered the wide variety of flavor that San Francisco has. This lovely city offers the best of everything! I moved back as soon as I found the maturity to appreciate the city’s offerings.

Where can we find you?

I teach at a few places:

  • The Body Gallery (Kearny  at Maiden Lane)- All Level group mat class with props- Thursdays at Noon-6 people (max).
  • San Francisco Pilates (Market St and Powell) by appointment only.
  •  On Pointe Training (Scott at Chestnut) groups of 4 people (max) on reformers and pilates chairs.

Take a class with Jenise!

If you would like to try out Jenise’s classes, the first two readers who comment below saying that they want to take a group class with Jenise (at the Body Gallery or On Pointe Training) will receive 1 group pass each.
Love Mari
Leave a Reply

