Buy Local and In Season

Growing up, I was never a fan of eating my veggies.  I loved fruits but I always tried to get away with not touching my vegetables.   I never thought that the day would come when I genuinely enjoy eating them.  In my early 20’s, I ate vegetables in an effort to lose/maintain my weight.  It wasn’t until my late 20’s that I started to incorporate more vegetables in my diet for health reasons.  Today, it’s hard for me to eat a meal without throwing in some greens.  I can’t believe I’m saying this but I actually crave vegetables.

2 (15)

Your fruits and vegetables don’t need to travel thousands of miles before getting to you when we have an abundance of locally-grown produce available here at home. It makes no sense NOT to buy local.

It also makes no sense to NOT buy seasonally.  When produce is in season, it’s easier on your wallet.  Not only that, it’s also going to taste better.  Locally-harvested produce have whole flavors intact and it’s going to be as fresh as possible when you get them.

Here is a list of produce in season this fall and locally-grown in California:

3 (10)

Share with us your latest purchases at your local farmers markets or grocery stores!

Love Mari

 

Leave a Reply

