A bad run is better than no run

I ran my second (well third if you count Spartan Race) half-marathon last Sunday and man did I have a tough run. I was feeling a little under the weather and I was struggling most of the way.  Mile 7-12 was a blur and I just kept telling myself, “don’t pass out!”  I also kept repeating to myself “a bad run is better than no run!”  It was so bad that if it was my first race ever, I probably would not race again!

Lessons learned:  hydrate, get lots of rest and DO NOT GET SICK!

Thank you to these ladies for keeping me motivated through 13.1 miles.  Couldn’t have done it without you guys.

1384250_10102486033301143_1961249121_n

Running is not my favorite activity (even though I LOVE running races…usually) so  I’m happy to take a couple of weeks off running and get back into my favorite, hot yoga!  I am currently practicing at Hot Box Yoga where I met my amazing teacher, Gabriela.  Here are pictures of Gabby taken by photographer extraordinaire Allan of iWorktheLight Photography (who also took our pictures for the Ideal Date Night Contest):

_DSC8177

_DSC8093

Yoga has totally changed the way I see fitness because it is holistic.  I love that I can be focused in that moment and just be present.  If you know me well, you know I cannot sit still :).

Anyway, Hot Box Yoga has graciously offered passes to give away as a bonus prize to our ideal date night contest so make sure you post your ideal date night between 10/10/13 and 10/31/13!

Love Mari

One thought on “A bad run is better than no run

  1. Pingback: Running on my mind | Shift Local

Leave a Reply

