Look Good and Do Good with Retrofit Republic

I have always been a fashion enthusiast.  Like many little girls, I loved dressing up my dolls.  As a teenager, I longed to buy clothes, shoes and accessories but growing up, we didn’t have much for “unnecessary” items.  So I got a part-time job at 15  not only to help my family out but also partly so I could afford the things I wanted.  To my surprise, I quickly learned the value of a hard-earned buck and I was actually hesitant to spend.  Don’t get me wrong, I love designer items as much as any other girl but man, I can’t seem to justify spending $1,000 on a pair of shoes or handbag.

One of my favorite activities is “thrifting” because you can find designer items for a fraction of the original price.  For example, I got this vintage Dooney and Burke over the shoulder purse for less than $15.

Unfortunately thrift stores are not always independent or locally owned but I do know of one San Francisco styling firm and vintage retailer which has long-deserved a Shift Local feature.  Retrofit Republic specializes in vintage and recycled clothing and they also offer services such as styling for individuals, weddings, and commercials.  Additionally, they are the epitome of not only “looking good” but “doing good” as well.  They regularly donate not only a fraction of their profits but also their services to a variety of causes all over the Bay Area.

Check out Retrofit Republic’s shop  and their beautiful lookbooks!

I am especially excited about their latest project, The Real Bodies Manifesto.

This lookbook is an example of their commitment to “uplift the diverse looks fo our communities and promote the incredible asthetics of people of color and the LGBTQ community.”

Co-founders Jenny Ton and Julia Rhee are long time friends of mine and I’m proud to know and support these fierce and beautiful social entrepreneurs.

Contact Retrofit Republic for all your styling and/or vintage needs!

2 thoughts on “Look Good and Do Good with Retrofit Republic

  1. Pingback: SF Bay Area Date Nights on a Budget: OCMA | Shift Local

  2. Pingback: SF Bay Area Date Nights on a Budget: OMCA | Shift Local

Leave a Reply

